Blog Detail

AutoCoinCars MOT Checklist

  • 12 May, 2021
AutoCoinCars MOT Checklist

By law in the UK, all cars over three years old require an annual MOT test and certificate to legally drive on UK roads.

MOT stands for “Ministry of Transport” which was the government department that first introduced this test in 1960.

Understanding an MOT is important when it comes to buying, selling, transferring ownership, and driving your car safely.

An MOT test includes checks on various parts of your car to make sure they meet the minimum standards set by the Driving and Vehicle Standards Authority to ensure your car is road legal.

So what’s included in an MOT check?

  • Bodywork
  • Brakes
  • Doors
  • Emissions
  • Fuel System
  • Horn
  • Lights
  • Mirrors
  • Seatbelts
  • Seats
  • Steering and suspension
  • Wheels and tyres
  • Windscreen
  • Wipers and Washer Bottle

A lot of these you can check yourself before you book your car into the garage.

Simple things like having your screenwash topped up, and checking your lights.

Doing little checks will save you from having to pay for them later!

As long as your vehicle is MOT tested by an approved garage/mechanic you will receive an MOT certificate that is valid for 12 months (as long as your car passes that is). 

If your car fails it means you will have to pay for repairs to be made in order for your car to pass and be road legal again.

If you’re looking to buy a used car you should always check its MOT history, this can be done by entering the registration number on the DVLA website.

Our used vehicles are all sold through approved dealers.

It’s always safer to buy through an approved dealership as opposed to a private seller as you’ll likely get a full MOT and warranty with the vehicle.

If you’re looking for the next car of your dreams, you can browse our cars for sale.

Find Your Next Car

Select Make
Select Model